Home / About Me

About Me

I’m Emily, a 40+ year-old mother of two living in Avon, Connecticut.  I have a fabulous husband, Jameson, and together we have two boys, Elijah (11) and Nolan (8). We have a 5-year old sheepadoodle, Tonka, and we recently adopted a cat named Houdini “Nouchi” from Protectors of Animals.  I’ve attempted to get many other animals (I really want a horse), all of which have been nixed by Jameson or the town of Avon.

I grew up 3 miles outside Crooks, SD, a small rural town close to Sioux Falls (last paved Main street in the United States, population approx 1200, maybe 800 when I left!). I went to Tri-Valley School, which literally sits in the middle of a cornfield (3 towns, together in one-school, K-12, graduating class of 69 students). I have two brothers, Ryan and Joey, 2 nieces, a nephew, and probably the most amazing parents on earth. I attended South Dakota State University where I ran track and cross-country.

I moved to Connecticut right out of college to begin an internship with the Hartford Advocate  (playbill division).  I owned a microwave and about 100 pair of shoes. 18 years later, I’m still with the same company,  Hartford Courant Media Group.  I have been fortunate through my years to have worked for so many amazing managers.

My mom has taught me so much. You would be amazed at the things she has built or drawn throughout the years. She’s an amazing artist.  I did crafts/projects with her growing up, she always included me and my brothers. I didn’t realize until I was an adult how much I was like her. She’s amazing. Both of my brothers are the same way. Ryan, my oldest brother, builds/finishes cabinets among many other things. My youngest brother, Joey, is out in Wyoming building roads. They often come out here to help Jameson and I do projects. A family that works together, stays together! My dad is the best dad in the world, however he sort of gave up on this kind of stuff. It’s tough to keep up with my mom. He’s been working on carving the same duck for 30 years, which has become our family joke. He’s such a great cow farmer though :) My kids, husband and in-laws are also great, always encouraging me, giving me ideas and helping when they can. My kids helped a lot when they were little, now they’re a bit bored of doing those sorts of things.

I like to run, hike, snowboard, kayak, and hang out with my family. I love doing projects, it’s just very hard to find the time anymore. I also love to shop and gamble! I love Marvel movies, and I will always be a Twi-hard!